Juice Kaboose

One of my elementary school friends came to visit today and because she was vegan, I gave her a list of restaurants and cafes in La Jolla that were vegan friendly and asked her to pick the one she wanted to try the most. And so we ended up at Juice Kaboose.

Juice Kaboose is located in downtown La Jolla and their motto is, as taken from their website, ” Organic – Gluten-Free – All Fresh – NO Concentrated Juices – Environmentally Friendly “! In a way, you could describe them as a super healthy Jamba Juice with fresher ingredients. They sell fruit and vegetable smoothies, as well as sandwiches, wraps, quesadillas, and super fruit bowls.

I was most interested in the last item because they offered both acai and pitaya bowls. But I was hungry, having skipped breakfast, and so I ordered their albacore tuna sandwich – which came with alfalfa sprouts, spinach, tomatoes, and reduced-calorie mayo – all between two toasted slices of whole wheat bread.

I then found out it also came with a lone strawberry. It served as a good palate cleanser before dessert.

The tuna sandwich was everything I had hoped for. The bread was warm, with a slight crunch; the vegetables were all fresh and crisp – and boy do I love alfalfa sprouts in my sandwiches; and of course the tuna itself was light and airy, almost as if it had a whipped consistency. You could taste the tuna and see specks of the relish that was mixed in. I absolutely loved it.

Side note: I got my tuna sandwich without the spicy mustard and my friend ordered the hummus sandwich (which is not pictured, because it looks almost identical to the albacore tuna sandwich)

After finishing off my sandwich whilst in good company and catching up with everything that had happened since we last saw each other, I went and ordered the pitaya bowl. I have to admit, I always research any restaurant or cafe or food truck or basically anywhere that has food before I go. So the night before, I went onto Juice Kaboose’s website and saw that they offered something called pitaya. I had never heard of pitaya, but after searching it up on Google, I realized it was one of my favorite fruits… DRAGONFRUIT.

Now dragonfruit is quite rare and quite expensive in the States. You can get it at select grocery stores like Whole Foods and 99 Ranch Market, but generally, people don’t buy it/have not tried it. (which is a shame because they are fantastic) However, dragonfruit is quite popular in Taiwan – in fact it’s served at most buffets and restaurants as the after meal fruit/dessert. I am familiar with two kinds of dragonfruit, the red kind and the white kind. Both taste the same, but the white one is more common. The truth is, dragonfruit doesn’t taste like much and you can eat the seeds inside the flesh of it, making for a delightful crunch in between the sweetness.

In any case, I bought the “hungry” size, which is the smallest size they had… and it was huge. I shudder to think of how big the “mega” size would have been. Maybe if I’m feeling brave one day, I’ll order it.

The pitaya bowl is made with fresh pitaya (as you can see, they used the red kind instead of the white), almond milk, and bananas. Then it’s topped with organic hemp granola, more bananas, strawberries, and mangoes. For extra money (50 cents), you can add on more toppings such as chocolate chips, almonds, blueberries, sunflower seeds, and coconut). I opted not to because I was happy with the original toppings.

After finishing that entire sandwich, I was a little hard-pressed to finish this huge bowl of dessert – so thank goodness my friend helped me out.

The whole thing was most comparable to Jamba Juice’s fruit & yogurt parfaits, aka the “toppers”, where you have a smoothie base topped with granola and bananas. In fact, the pitaya blend on the bottom kind of reminded me of a Banana Berry smoothie at Jamba Juice.

Overall, I really enjoyed my lunch at Juice Kaboose and would definitely love to come back and try some of their smoothies, as well as their acai bowl. The best part was, parking wasn’t hard to find during Saturday around noon. Also, I believe you can phone in your orders if you don’t want to wait for them to make it – but honestly, they don’t take very long to give you your food.

Juice Caboose
7556 Fay Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037
www.juicekaboose.com

2 thoughts on “Juice Kaboose

  1. Gigi says:

    Those sandwiches look sooo good. I love fresh sprouts in sandwiches and even more so that it’s all organic and healthy. And I have to say I have never seen dragon fruit before but would love to try it, it looks amazing! I’m going to look for it the next time I’m at the organic supermarket here in town.

    • YES TRY DRAGONFRUIT. It’s delicious. :) Although the thing is… the dragonfruit in the States are gross, so I don’t know if it’s a good idea for you to have them here – also they’re quite expensive. But if you find them and they look all right, then buy one!

Leave a Reply

